The Playful Approach

Play is not always easy. As one ages, one comes to take life pretty seriously. The urge to get things right before it’s too late can get in the way of the urge to play. Gravity can overwhelm the lovely levity of childhood. Thankfully, when one enters the zone of creativity  – even with serious intent – the child within is  invited to play again.

Pressed to work with the wire again – that I might have some pieces ready for The Peter Anderson Festival in early November, I forced myself to begin the struggling sort of dance that creating with wire entails. I began with the idea of making a smaller more child-like angel. I wasn’t sure why, and almost regretted it due to the difficulty of shaping the wire into smaller forms. But I persevered, stubbornly disregarding the punishment to my hands. My fingers squeezed and pushed and resorted to needle-nose pliers until at last she was finished. However, she wasn’t complete. What to do with her next. She simply couldn’t stand alone. She lay around for a couple of days – while I did some remedial work on another angel. Then I accepted her need for a companion and created a little winged dog. This was smaller and even more difficult than the  child angel; I came close to giving up. He seemed awkward at first but the simple act of adding two ears and a tail out of gold wire gave him a lively doggy air. Now I knew there was something playful going on, but I needed something to unite the angel dog with the angel child. A tiny circlet of gold: a ball. Next I made a stand out of heavier gauge wire – to suspend them from and allow them to play. Nearly invisable fishing line attached them, the tiny gold “ball” was hung from the hand of the child. Remarkably, a balance was achieved and I stood back to watch them – turning, moving subtly in response to the overhead fans in the room. My work was done; my creation could play. And I found that I had been playing all the time.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Playful Approach”

  1. Ann Says:

    Oh Leif, this is such wonderful and vivid reading. I can feel the wire in my hand, forming shapes, seeing the final image in my mind, touching it with excitement and sore fingers, reminiscing the Angel holding the baby, the one I’ve admired and adored, with each perfect curve, every finger, every line of the body, so sensual and amazingly beautiful. I can see that same beauty in the playfulness of the angels here and I delight to your creative expression of the heart.
    Thank you 🙂

    • leiflife Says:

      And thank you, Ann, for responding with such sensitivity to my need to share a process that takes place in solitude. With Kendall gone, I get few comments, so this was a lovely surprise – and a gift. I shall move on gladly to the next angel.

Leave a Reply

