In The Name of Art

Over the last few weeks I have rushed hither and thither in the name of art. In the name of art, I have entered a sculpture and drawing in the Ocean Springs Art Association show, rushed to complete more sculptures for The Peter Anderson Festival and attended that same festival to uphold the family name. In the name of art, I have joined my family in honoring yet another visiting poet who would write of my famous father, while the  poet within me languished for want of attention. I have gone through the motions expected of a member of the artist’s family. The artist in question – even when still alive – wisely held himself aloof from such.  Walter Anderson was true to himself. Am I really honoring his artistic legacy by setting aside my own truth, in the name of someone else’s art? Would he want me to bear such a weight to the detriment of my personal journey? Don’t we each have messages worthy of delivery?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “In The Name of Art”

  1. Kendall Says:

    You know what I’m going to say, right? I’m going to say what you’re really saying to yourself. The art in you is what needs to be honored. The poet in you needs your time and attention. And I say that as I dash off, between a radio show this morning and a meeting this evening, to do more Occupy work. I talk a good game, don’t I? I love you, good buddy. We’re on it together, and I can’t help laughing at both of us.

  2. leiflife Says:

    The poet in me needs my time and attention. You are right, best buddy, and I have to find a way to make that possible. May it be so… May I open myself to the wisdom and light the angel is ready to deliver.
    Thank you, sweet friend…

Leave a Reply

