FELLED BY THE STORM

Felled By The StormThe storm raged all the night long

as I slept a determined (if intermittent) sleep.

A light show

complete with rock band (heavy on the bass)

caused Music-dog to shiver with distress.

Next morning –

Just as the raging began to subside –

a low-flying Cuckoo flew

 into the shining reflective glass

of my studio window.

The sudden thud

of the bird’s soft body against the glass

roused instant regret

at the inviting nature of my windows,

and dread at what I would find

on the storm-battered boards of my deck.

How strange to find beauty and life

suspended so wondrously!

My heart had been lurching on the edge of grief,

but instead I retrieved my camera.

This was the moment

of the Cuckoo’s release.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “FELLED BY THE STORM”

  1. Kendall Says:

    I can’t add a word to the beauty of your response, but I celebrate your courage to find the camera and the words.

  2. leiflife Says:

    More and more I find that I have to trust my response… Thank you for affirming that.

  3. Kendall Says:

    Always.

  4. leiflife Says:

    Together…

Leave a Reply

