Enlightened

Pearl (Enlightenment) 062 (768x1024) (2)I am entranced by a new dance:

A small cat named pearl

has consented to be my teacher.

Last week

I was still grieving for Sunny,

still calling his name each time I opened the door.

On the lookout for what I had lost,

I found myself looking at shelter cats…

looking at every orange cat

intently searching for the one

 who weeks ago had moved on.

Standing in the midst of homeless animals

of every hue,

Sunny’s brilliant orange was obscured

by my tears.

I guess I stopped looking and began to see,

and out of the many

I saw pearl.

Tiny and gray and white

with just a smidgeon of pale orange,

Pearl of The Emerald Eyes 038 (768x1024) (2)

she turned her emerald eyes upon me,

and I was smitten.

In the place where Sunny’s lush tail

plumed out from his large male body,

this diminutive cat has none.

This absence makes my heart grow fonder.

I can live with absence.

Companionship will get me by.

Pearl and Me (Renewal) 101 (1024x768) (2)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Enlightened”

  1. Kendall Says:

    Beautiful blog, Leif, and yes, companionship will get you by. What a little beauty she is.

  2. leiflife Says:

    Thanks, Kendall, for accompanying the dance…no matter the dips and turns and jolts and glides…and stalls.

  3. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    how could one not fall in love with that precious kitten! that ‘cage’ photo touched my heart!

Leave a Reply

