FLIGHT COMPANION

Monarch (After The Flight) 051 (1024x789) (2)

Beside the road

a cloud of golden flowers,

and supping from their hearts:

A Monarch butterfly.

My camera tracks her flight

from heart to honeyed heart.

The creature finds it difficult

to cease her flying.

Her brilliant color…

the distinctive pattern on wings

may fascinate my camera’s eye,

yet these same wings

are frayed and tattered from her journey.

Their lingering yet incomplete magnificence

reminds me that

my own wings droop and drag these days.

They, too, are torn from my devotion to the journey.

Yet – like the butterfly –

I shall not stay my flight,

but honor every quivering response

to an old heart’s pulsing courage.

I shall continue to sup nectar from each flower.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “FLIGHT COMPANION”

  1. Kendall Says:

    Frayed, tattered, but unbroken. Love this, Leif.

  2. leiflife Says:

    Thank you, Kendall. Not so sure about unbroken, but definitely still flying…still supping.

Leave a Reply

