LAMENT OF AN OLD TIRE

A Dreary morning 026 (1024x768) (2)

On a gray and dreary morning

I encountered an old tire.

It seemed organic,

settled as it was among the grasses.

It might have grown roots…

so implanted it was…

so encrusted with lichen and barnacles…

dead to its old life

yet still somehow alive.

I was drawn to the old tire as to my old self…

moved by whatever history

might have brought her to this moment.

A Dreary morning...Getting Interesting 027 (1024x758) (2)

She appeared to waken slightly

in response to my interest.

Her heavy and sorrowful beauty

appeared to echo my own.

What I perceived in her

made age and emptiness almost acceptable.

A Dreary morning...More Interesting 028 (1024x736) (1024x736) (2)

“Yes, I am old,

but emptiness can be an illusion…

an unfair assumption of the truth.

You need to get closer now…

to enter the realm you fear.

Your anguish at being used up

may lead you to untapped realities.”

Untapped  realities…

What does this mean?

She seems to invite me

to go all the way to the core of misery

and express it fully.

Funny how I expected the tire

to lament a barren existence,

not to suggest that fertility lurks

in complete acceptance of oneself

at any given moment.

I look again…

zoom in on possibility…

imagine worlds beyond imagining…

perceive a world within a world.

I am…

A Dreary morning...Going Inside 028 (1024x736) (2)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “LAMENT OF AN OLD TIRE”

  1. Gel Says:

    THIS:
    …”Your anguish at being used up

    may lead you to untapped realities.”

    Untapped realities…

    What does this mean?

    She seems to invite me

    to go all the way to the core of misery

    and express it fully.”

    That part really speaks to me and speaks for me right now.

    Thank you. (and thanks to the tire)

  2. leiflife Says:

    Thank you, Gel, for letting me know that my words resonate with you. It felt important at the time to believe in the Power of “the core of misery. I am glad that you understand and that you are helped.

Leave a Reply

