ENTRANCEMENT

Sandhill Crane Refuge - Lingering and Left Behind (Intimacy) 188 (777x1024) (2)

On my cousin’s birthday –

walking the trail of a refuge for Sandhill Cranes  –

I found myself entranced by curly grasses.

My sister called them Toothache Grass.

Yet how could anything so fey and free –

so grace-filled and precocious –

be named Toothache Grass?

I fell behind the jovial women I had come with,

surrendering to the dependable intimacy

of taking photographs.

Sandhill Crane Refuge - Curly Grasses and Palmettos 190 (1024x768) (3)

These curly grasses drew me in

to catch the light…

to sense the wind…

to dance against Palmetto and Pine.

Sandhill Crane Refuge - Dance of The Curly Grasses etc 185 (1024x758) (2)

Having found my peers,

how could I leave?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “ENTRANCEMENT”

  1. Kendall Says:

    A love story. Catching the light, sensing the wind. Bliss.

  2. leiflife Says:

    I knew you would understand. Thanks dear friend.

  3. Gel Says:

    I would fall behind the others along with you.

    I love how you express, in poetry, the experience you portray in photos.

    I just came in from a morning walk, with my camera. I too was enchanted by growing things of beauty….

    Maybe the ‘toothache grass’ was wanting a new name…
    dancing-curly-light-catchers?
    xxoo

  4. leiflife Says:

    Thanks so much, Gel, for your kind and intuitive response. Dancing Curly Light Catchers seems about right.

Leave a Reply

