LONE GREEN HERON

Green Heron in Grasses on Blue background 041 (2)

Late afternoon,

and I had walked the dogs;

endured their stops and starts,

their drag upon my aching arms.

Now I had shut the door

upon the ache of our attachment,

was walking freely to the water’s edge.

My arms felt light,

my mind relaxed into the ambience

of soft light spilling over water,

lone green heron standing in the marsh.

My camera was at hand;

it’s eye was open.

My eye was open to perceive the beauty

of a solitary bird.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “LONE GREEN HERON”

  1. Kendall Says:

    Oh Leif! Spectacularly beautiful image, deep and tender truthful poem. Glorious Leif-ness. So utterly you. And the camera is a fine tool in your hands. I love the sharpness of the grasses and the bird and the never-never-land of the background.

    • leiflife Says:

      Dear kendall, your words reflect the photo…magnify the image in a wonderfully affirming way. Your understanding of the poem encourages my truth. Thank you…

  2. Brent Says:

    A stunning photo. Your words lead us to see how the eye centers, and how at that still, focused axis, we align again. Thank you!!!

    • leiflife Says:

      Dear Brent, You are welcome, and thank you for bringing me back to my own understanding. Again I refocus and hope for alignment. Again and again and…

Leave a Reply

