NAKED LADIES BLOOMED, RABBITS MUNCHED, SQUIRRELS FROLICKED AND GOLDENROD TICKLED OUR NOSES

Naked Lady, Bunny & Fairy Vase 039 (1024x675) (2)

October was a golden month…

aglow with wildflowers, butterflies,

cool sweet mornings,

and the most glorious of autumn-blue skies.

The light was magical

and Southerners weary of humid heat

were re-energized.

In the earlier days of the month

rabbits munched every evening

on the dregs of summer grass.

Naked Ladies caught the last rays

of the sinking sun.

The whole month long…

squirrels raced one another,

foraging madly for winter nourishment…

preparing their nests.

My decorating during this month was playful…

lighthearted before the fall.

Squirrel & Goldenrod Plate 072 (1024x678) (2)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “NAKED LADIES BLOOMED, RABBITS MUNCHED, SQUIRRELS FROLICKED AND GOLDENROD TICKLED OUR NOSES”

  1. gracemahoney2013 Says:

    All those golds. All those blues. All this beauty.
    Exquisite, all of it.

  2. 14stations Says:

    Dear Leif, I found out about your blog and Blipfoto page from Kendall, who I’m friends with on Blip. I was so delighted to see her posts about you over the past year or so because I have been an admirer of your family’s art since my childhood in Mississippi – frequent trips to Shearwater Pottery. I also have your book Dancing With My Father and have enjoyed reading your blog and now your Blipfoto page.
    My mother just passed away in Laurel a couple of weeks ago. We are going there again for Thanksgiving, and plan to drive down to Ocean Springs for an overnight. I have always wanted to visit Horn Island, but am not having much luck finding a way to get over there. I’m wondering if you could recommend a private charter that would take us over for a few hours and let us wander around? My email is lruffin1@mac.com, and my name is Lydia Ruffin. Thanks so much for any help.
    We’d also love to see some of your recent work. Are any still at the Annex?
    All best to you,
    Lydia

Leave a comment